About Dieu Donné

Visit our main site for more information.

About Us  I  Contact

Dieu Donné is a non-profit organization dedicated to the creation, promotion, and preservation of new contemporary art utilizing the hand papermaking process. The organization’s primary services and programs are devoted to working with mid-career and emerging artists to develop new, innovative methods of papermaking within the medium and the greater world of contemporary art. These programs provide a significant educational opportunity for contemporary artists by engaging them actively in the approaches to hand papermaking that Artistic Director Emeritus Paul Wong has developed through collaborations with artists since our inception in 1976. Located in New York City, Dieu Donné houses a professional papermaking studio as well as a gallery, archive, and administrative offices.

Initial funding for this site was provided by The Greenwall Foundation and The Andy Warhol Foundation for Visual Arts.

The artistic and educational programs at Dieu Donné are made possible with public funds from the National Endowment for the Arts, the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature, the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council; and Foundation support including: Lily Auchincloss Foundation, Milton & Sally Avery Arts Foundation, Inc, Bloomberg Philanthropies, Foundation for Contemporary Arts, The Ford Foundation – Good Neighbor Program, Horace W. Goldsmith Foundation, The Minnow Fund, The New York Community Trust, The O’Grady Foundation, The Andy Warhol Foundation for Visual Arts and The Partnership Fund for New York City along with major individual support. Current as of 6/8/2015. 



Susan Gosin, Founder & Co-Chair
Max Munn, Co-Chair
Sabrina Horn, Treasurer
Jennifer Clifford Danner, Secretary
Lesley Dill
Sue Ann Evans
Joan Hall
James Selfe
Sylvia Shepard
B. Wurtz

Laura Stirton Aust
Laurence Barker
Timothy Barrett
Martina Batan
Jacqueline Brody
Chuck Close
Mona Dukess
Helen Frederick
Brett Littman
Winifred Lutz
Margaret Mathews-Berenson
Donald McKinney
George Negroponte
Mina Takahashi
Zelda Tenebaum
Kenneth Tyler

residencies.dieudonne.org was designed by Bridget Donlon and Kathleen Flynn with assistance from Rachel Moses.